Alpár / S Olbricht + Carla Under Water – Split (sicsic072, C58)

The Budapest scene of the last few years has garnered attention, because of its cross-pollinatory nature, specific sound revolving around the Farbwechsel label. Lo-fi house, analogue electronics, vintage techno have become staples of sonic map of the Hungarian capital. The Farbwechsel headhonchos now teamed up together for this split release. Alpár’s part sees him showcase his tradmark synthwave, kraut and kosmische inspired analogue-driven ambient-like compositions. It is definitely the “lighter” side of the album, the more hopeful and calming. The angel to the devil that arises on the other half – S Olbricht with vocals of Carla Under Water are plaintive and melancholic, embracing genres like cold-wave, EBM or even shoegaze, the vocals sometimes reminding of those of a sombre Freddy Ruppert, cloaked in a fog of lofi post-punkish doom and gloom. Nevertheless, this is probably their most accessible and versatile release, promising to further cement the status of the Budapest Zodiak Club. ( Lucia Udvardyova, //

01 – Psittaciformes
02 – Strigiformes
03 – Sphenisciformes
04 – Anseriformes
05 – Piciformes
06 – Procellariformes
01 – Running Blind
02 – The Door
03 – No Message (The Key)
04 – Birds
05 – Gunshot (You are the Light)
06 – Eyes wide open (Face your Fears)

Additional Infos:
Recorded in Budapest in 2013 by Bálint Zalkai, Martin Mikolai and Máté Tulipán.Thank you: Ballacid, Janidani, 12z, PalmovkaReleased on homedubbed chrome tapes in an edition of 90 on 25 February, 2014 

Please get in touch with our friends and distro-partners:

SOL Sound (Japan)

Rewind Forward (UK)

Experimedia (US)

Tomentosa (US)

Fuse Art Space (UK)